Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Current News

Moderator: Moderators

subsonic
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4924
Joined: Feb Thu 12, 2004 5:08 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by subsonic » Jun Wed 13, 2012 12:14 pm

Hello everybody. Rdeacon is moving soon and we're going to lose his FIOS connection which hosts Background and Scheduled streams.

We're looking for people who are willing to lend us their bandwidth for an indefinite amount of time.
What this entails:
  • Able leave a computer connected to the internet and installed with Shoutcast DNAS, usually giving us access to the box via Remote Desktop, Teamviewer, or LogMeIn.
  • Bandwidth with upload speed of around 10mb/second (to host 50 streams at 95k/s)
  • Some technical knowledge to set things up
  • Willing to receive only thanks in return (there's really no perks involved)
If you meet these requirements we might even use you anyways to add more slots for listeners. :)

Thanks,
Let us know :)
Join our chat in Discord: https://discord.gg/zw5by3z

js3901
Matterhorn Bobsleds Climber
Matterhorn Bobsleds Climber
Posts: 4727
Joined: Aug Wed 25, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by js3901 » Jun Wed 13, 2012 5:30 pm

I have an extra computer, and a FiOS connection. When I get the chance, I'll hook it up and run a speed test on it to determine how good it is...
"And please do not sit on the floor. My studies show you can't experience time travel on the floor. and it's not a pretty picture in those shorts" - The Timekeeper

Site Admin, Relayer, WDW Freak
[url=http://ubanimator.com][img]http://img65.imageshack.us/img65/4845/userbar499931tz9.gif[/img][/url]

lonepalm
Great Moments with Mr. Lincoln Usher
Great Moments with Mr. Lincoln Usher
Posts: 233
Joined: Jul Thu 09, 2009 10:20 pm

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by lonepalm » Jun Thu 14, 2012 1:04 pm

Hey js3901, fellow Buffalonian here! I also donate bandwidth and have been told that as long as the PC works and your FiOS connection is decent, you can host a stream. The most important part is the upload speed of the FiOS connection, not the speed of the PC. I'm sure you knew that and meant that in the first place, just wanted to make sure!
Image

Proud bandwidth donor to Subsonic Radio!

Check out disneyparksinfo.com and wdwthemeparks.com!

Tinkerbell
Main Street Horse Car Coachman
Main Street Horse Car Coachman
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan Wed 24, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Casselberry, Florida :)

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by Tinkerbell » Jun Thu 14, 2012 2:13 pm

that rdeacon you can never depend on him! ;) sorry guys but we gotta get closer to the magic! :figment:

Amy
Submarine Voyage Captain
Submarine Voyage Captain
Posts: 18485
Joined: Dec Wed 12, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: the flooded, flooded mitten

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by Amy » Jun Thu 14, 2012 5:04 pm

Tinkerbell wrote:that rdeacon you can never depend on him! ;) sorry guys but we gotta get closer to the magic! :figment:
Is that where you guys are moving? How close will you be?! :D

rdeacon
Santa Fe & Disneyland Railroad Engineer
Santa Fe & Disneyland Railroad Engineer
Posts: 2153
Joined: Jun Mon 28, 2004 11:50 am
Location: Winter Springs, FL
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by rdeacon » Jun Mon 18, 2012 7:39 am

Amy,

We are going to about 40 min away. We are initially going to be in the Casselberry area, then will look to move into the Oviedo/Chuluota area. Its an area Northeast of Orlando, inland from Titusville in Seminole County

Rich
"It's kind of fun to do the impossible.."
Walt Disney

[img]http://www.rdeacon.com/img/banners/bar/SR_admin_adv.jpg[/img]
[img]http://rdeacon.com/img/banners/bar/SR_monkey_adv.jpg[/img]

Gdgtguru
Fire Engine Driver
Fire Engine Driver
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug Thu 26, 2010 10:34 pm
Location: Chester Springs, PA

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by Gdgtguru » Jun Mon 18, 2012 11:10 am

rdeacon wrote:Amy,

We are going to about 40 min away. We are initially going to be in the Casselberry area, then will look to move into the Oviedo/Chuluota area. Its an area Northeast of Orlando, inland from Titusville in Seminole County

Rich

Jealous!

Amy
Submarine Voyage Captain
Submarine Voyage Captain
Posts: 18485
Joined: Dec Wed 12, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: the flooded, flooded mitten

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by Amy » Jun Mon 18, 2012 12:09 pm

rdeacon wrote:Amy,

We are going to about 40 min away. We are initially going to be in the Casselberry area, then will look to move into the Oviedo/Chuluota area. Its an area Northeast of Orlando, inland from Titusville in Seminole County

Rich
Very nice! Didn't realize you were lucky enough to be heading that way. Best of luck on the move :D
We will of course be expecting some photos from Disney a little more frequently once you get there right?! ;)

BenB
Fantasyland Theater Projectionist
Fantasyland Theater Projectionist
Posts: 167
Joined: Oct Tue 21, 2008 8:57 pm
Location: Upstate NY

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by BenB » Jun Tue 19, 2012 1:53 am

rdeacon wrote:Amy,

We are going to about 40 min away. We are initially going to be in the Casselberry area, then will look to move into the Oviedo/Chuluota area. Its an area Northeast of Orlando, inland from Titusville in Seminole County

Rich
Cool! I did my pastoral internship for a year in Oviedo at St. Luke's Lutheran Church. It's how my wife and I got hooked on WDW. We got annual passes and nothing's ever been the same since!
Hoping to go back to the Magic soon.

brerrabbit1
Mike Fink Keel Boats Boatswain
Mike Fink Keel Boats Boatswain
Posts: 357
Joined: Apr Sat 21, 2012 7:18 am
Location: Yorktown,Virginia

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by brerrabbit1 » Jun Tue 19, 2012 6:23 am

rdeacon wrote:Amy,

We are going to about 40 min away. We are initially going to be in the Casselberry area, then will look to move into the Oviedo/Chuluota area. Its an area Northeast of Orlando, inland from Titusville in Seminole County

Rich
I'm jealous!! we've actually been dreaming and looking at housing there and jobs,I think it's everyone's dream to live near the mouse!!Hope you guys really enjoy it!! :mickey:

rdeacon
Santa Fe & Disneyland Railroad Engineer
Santa Fe & Disneyland Railroad Engineer
Posts: 2153
Joined: Jun Mon 28, 2004 11:50 am
Location: Winter Springs, FL
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by rdeacon » Jun Tue 19, 2012 1:34 pm

Yeah I will have to post more often.. maybe even a photo update thread! :)

I do have more refined news on the streams. I currently host the scheduled stream. That will go dark on July 20th unless we can secure another hosting option. I also run a server that runs the back ground stream. The background stream is hosted some where else so its not effected by my moving. The background stream will remain up, with a possible 15,20 min outage while I transition from one server to another, NJ to FL.

Rich
"It's kind of fun to do the impossible.."
Walt Disney

[img]http://www.rdeacon.com/img/banners/bar/SR_admin_adv.jpg[/img]
[img]http://rdeacon.com/img/banners/bar/SR_monkey_adv.jpg[/img]

Amy
Submarine Voyage Captain
Submarine Voyage Captain
Posts: 18485
Joined: Dec Wed 12, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: the flooded, flooded mitten

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by Amy » Jun Tue 19, 2012 2:29 pm

rdeacon wrote:Yeah I will have to post more often.. maybe even a photo update thread! :)

I do have more refined news on the streams. I currently host the scheduled stream. That will go dark on July 20th unless we can secure another hosting option. I also run a server that runs the back ground stream. The background stream is hosted some where else so its not effected by my moving. The background stream will remain up, with a possible 15,20 min outage while I transition from one server to another, NJ to FL.

Rich
NJ to FL. What a lovely transition :D I can't say I listen to the scheduled stream often, but the background is quite nice. Hopefully someone has the bandwidth to continue everything on without too much interruption. We live in the sticks and only recently got high speed internet. FIOS is a long way in future :shock: if ever :(

jgarmer
Sleeping Beauty Castle Guard
Sleeping Beauty Castle Guard
Posts: 32
Joined: Mar Mon 02, 2009 8:05 am

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by jgarmer » Jun Wed 20, 2012 9:30 am

You still in hunt for this? I have a vm farm i can setup a guest on a fios 20g upload link can you tell me specs. Looks like dnas will run on lots of os versions what do you usually run it on and what hd space is required? I can setup a Home server 64 bit guest would that work?


joe

rdeacon
Santa Fe & Disneyland Railroad Engineer
Santa Fe & Disneyland Railroad Engineer
Posts: 2153
Joined: Jun Mon 28, 2004 11:50 am
Location: Winter Springs, FL
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by rdeacon » Jun Wed 20, 2012 2:27 pm

Joe

You can pick whatever OS you want to run. It doesn't need any hd space. The streams are encoded on a separate box and pushed to the relay.

Rich
"It's kind of fun to do the impossible.."
Walt Disney

[img]http://www.rdeacon.com/img/banners/bar/SR_admin_adv.jpg[/img]
[img]http://rdeacon.com/img/banners/bar/SR_monkey_adv.jpg[/img]

jgarmer
Sleeping Beauty Castle Guard
Sleeping Beauty Castle Guard
Posts: 32
Joined: Mar Mon 02, 2009 8:05 am

Re: Bandwidth Needed - Anybody got FIOS (or better)?

Post by jgarmer » Jun Wed 20, 2012 4:29 pm

So some firewall work is needed also then? port forwarding?

joe

Post Reply