Subsonicradio at work

Current News

Moderator: Moderators

Amy
Submarine Voyage Captain
Submarine Voyage Captain
Posts: 18489
Joined: Dec Wed 12, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: the flooded, flooded mitten

Post by Amy » Mar Sat 13, 2010 8:42 am

Subsonic would be the only reason I would be happy sitting in a cubicle, or dare I dream, my own office. I will have to try the next time I am at school and see if it will stream - never had enough time to try to listen. I have found that my iphone doesn't work very well as a radio either - I can listen for a few seconds up to a few minutes before it is buffering again - I think that is more of a 3G coverage problem though - and it eats up the battery pretty quickly listening to my favorite music :mickey:

Twirly41
Omnibus Driver
Omnibus Driver
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug Sat 16, 2008 7:20 pm

Subsonic at work

Post by Twirly41 » Mar Sun 14, 2010 2:37 pm

Sadly, I can't listen at work. My employer blocks streaming also. I would LOVE to be able to listen all day.

inkydog
Casey Junior Circus Train Conductor
Casey Junior Circus Train Conductor
Posts: 61
Joined: Mar Mon 14, 2005 9:49 am

Post by inkydog » Mar Sun 14, 2010 3:09 pm

Listen at work all day, but to be nice, I use the 24k stream.

Joepsycho4
Main Street Horse Car Coachman
Main Street Horse Car Coachman
Posts: 16
Joined: Sep Wed 17, 2008 3:01 pm

Can't connect at work

Post by Joepsycho4 » Mar Mon 15, 2010 12:35 pm

I am unable to listen at work. I am able to connect to other streaming music, just not Subsonic.

Thanks

Len90
Submarine Voyage Captain
Submarine Voyage Captain
Posts: 6726
Joined: Mar Sat 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Can't connect at work

Post by Len90 » Mar Mon 15, 2010 1:06 pm

Joepsycho4 wrote:I am unable to listen at work. I am able to connect to other streaming music, just not Subsonic.

Thanks
Does Dtunes work for you? If so, then it would mean your place of employment blocks port 8000
- Len90
Image
Image
"If you can dream it, you can do it. Always remember that this whole thing was started with a dream and a mouse."
"Here you leave today and enter the world of yesterday, tomorrow, and fantasy"

rdeacon
Santa Fe & Disneyland Railroad Engineer
Santa Fe & Disneyland Railroad Engineer
Posts: 2153
Joined: Jun Mon 28, 2004 11:50 am
Location: Winter Springs, FL
Contact:

Post by rdeacon » Mar Tue 16, 2010 7:59 am

fireman17 wrote:Rich,
My home PC is the one not allowing my to listen. The message I get is about protocol settings any ideas?
What player are you using to connect?

Rich
"It's kind of fun to do the impossible.."
Walt Disney

[img]http://www.rdeacon.com/img/banners/bar/SR_admin_adv.jpg[/img]
[img]http://rdeacon.com/img/banners/bar/SR_monkey_adv.jpg[/img]

heathernoel
Omnibus Driver
Omnibus Driver
Posts: 23
Joined: Oct Sun 21, 2007 8:39 am
Location: Orlando, Florida

Post by heathernoel » Mar Fri 19, 2010 6:42 am

I just can't seem to get through the buffering process (unsure of technicalities). Y'all were blocked for a while :roll: but now I just can't seem to connect :(

Thank you so much! I MISS subsonic!!

heathernoel
Omnibus Driver
Omnibus Driver
Posts: 23
Joined: Oct Sun 21, 2007 8:39 am
Location: Orlando, Florida

Post by heathernoel » Mar Fri 19, 2010 6:44 am

I can listen to Dtunes... but I miss subsonic :(

Gahutto
Fire Engine Driver
Fire Engine Driver
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct Sun 04, 2009 6:14 pm

Post by Gahutto » Mar Sat 20, 2010 7:55 pm

So this is really random, but I can listen at my house and everywhere else I have ever tried it but at my grandmas it doesn't work and I'm not sure why :(

sag746
Casey Junior Circus Train Conductor
Casey Junior Circus Train Conductor
Posts: 60
Joined: Jun Mon 11, 2007 1:00 pm
Location: Miami Florida

Rich

Post by sag746 » Mar Mon 22, 2010 5:23 am

My employer has restrictions on our computers. What I do to circumvent this is to first get into Background and let that buffer complete. Next I go on 96k and then it also buffers. If I try to get on 96k first, it doesn't work.

Thanks

Steve
Hope you have a great day

subsonic
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4924
Joined: Feb Thu 12, 2004 5:08 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Post by subsonic » Mar Tue 23, 2010 11:37 am

Those people are are buffering, have you tried the 24k stream?
Join our chat in Discord: https://discord.gg/zw5by3z

jrcohen
Peter Pan's Flight Pixie Duster
Peter Pan's Flight Pixie Duster
Posts: 520
Joined: Apr Thu 07, 2005 9:17 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Post by jrcohen » Mar Wed 24, 2010 3:21 pm

I can connect fine, but my office's web screening is fairly lax.
Please keep your arms and legs inside the vehicle until the ride comes to a full and complete stop. Thank you, and enjoy the rest of your day here at Walt Disney World.

holidaygeek
Alice in Wonderland Wonderer
Alice in Wonderland Wonderer
Posts: 40
Joined: Nov Tue 06, 2007 11:49 am
Location: Thornton, CO
Contact:

Post by holidaygeek » Mar Thu 25, 2010 10:53 am

Rich
I get it just fine However the 96 K stream wont work but the 64k streams do, thanks for checking.
Scot Meyers
Thornton, CO
"Why do we have to grow up? I know more adults who have the children's approach to life. They are not afraid to be delighted with simple pleasures"- Walt Disney"

bamato
Fantasyland Theater Projectionist
Fantasyland Theater Projectionist
Posts: 171
Joined: May Fri 09, 2008 9:36 am
Location: Mesa, Arizona

Post by bamato » Apr Wed 14, 2010 9:08 am

It's strange, I just recently started having problems with my connections... Never had any issues before.

horizons1
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1877
Joined: Mar Thu 18, 2004 4:18 pm
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Contact:

Post by horizons1 » May Wed 12, 2010 2:46 pm

My work network is strict and I have to listen over my phone - I'd love a common port solution.
No one's gloomy or complaining while the flatware's entertaining.
Image
Image
Image

Post Reply