Home Network

Stuff that's not Disney/Site related

Moderator: Moderators

Jacca5660
Submarine Voyage Captain
Submarine Voyage Captain
Posts: 6842
Joined: Jun Sun 25, 2006 12:11 pm
Location: Chattanooga Tn
Contact:

Home Network

Post by Jacca5660 » Jan Fri 09, 2009 8:55 pm

I am in the process of setting up a wired home network. I want to put my teenagers computer on line and be able to share files and printer between both computers. I also want to be able to monitor the boys computer from mine. Does anybody have any suggestions. Do you all know what works and what you've had problems with.

I'm not sure whether to run the system through my existing computer and make that the master (server I guess) or run the 2 computers through a switch/router (I have a switch/router in place). I already have my cat 5E ran and set up.

I know I'm not the only GEEK on these board! Please lend me your experience.

Thank You!!! :?
"Our dreams can come true - if we have the courage to pursue them" WED

"There's a fine prow on that steamer, let's climb aboard her!" Fireside

"You're off the map mateys..Here there be SeaMonsters!!"

The original "LICENSE MAYHEM MARAUDER!!ImageImage

MadEye
Haunted Mansion Butler
Haunted Mansion Butler
Posts: 3685
Joined: Jun Sat 07, 2008 5:18 pm

Post by MadEye » Jan Fri 09, 2009 10:38 pm

I would highly recommend a wireless network (no wires to trip over from room to room). And unless you are a hacker then the only real way to monitor what your kids do on their computers is to check the computers in their rooms manually.
We are all a little weird
And life's a little weird,
And when we find someone whose
Weirdness is compatible with ours,
We join up with them and fall in
Mutual weirdness and call it Love.”
― Dr. Seuss

Eames: Listen, if you're gonna perform INCEPTION, you need IMAGINATION.

Len90
Submarine Voyage Captain
Submarine Voyage Captain
Posts: 6726
Joined: Mar Sat 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by Len90 » Jan Fri 09, 2009 11:09 pm

Go wireless for sure. I would suggest the Apple network system. 2 desktops and a printer.... I would suggest an Apple Airport Extreme and wire your primary computer into it. Then use a wireless card in your other computer and a wireless device on the printer and you should be good to go. When setting up your network be sure to make it password protected with a WPA code.
- Len90
Image
Image
"If you can dream it, you can do it. Always remember that this whole thing was started with a dream and a mouse."
"Here you leave today and enter the world of yesterday, tomorrow, and fantasy"

js3901
Matterhorn Bobsleds Climber
Matterhorn Bobsleds Climber
Posts: 4727
Joined: Aug Wed 25, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

Post by js3901 » Jan Fri 09, 2009 11:18 pm

I also would recommend a wireless network. You won't have to drill holes in the walls/floors, and if working with laptops, you can move freely between rooms, so long as you still get a good signal from the router.

as for "spying" on your kids, there is software that you can buy which can monitor their activities and block unwanted content. not sure if you can do this on a network or not (didn't read too much into the listing), but it might be worth a shot.
"And please do not sit on the floor. My studies show you can't experience time travel on the floor. and it's not a pretty picture in those shorts" - The Timekeeper

Site Admin, Relayer, WDW Freak
[url=http://ubanimator.com][img]http://img65.imageshack.us/img65/4845/userbar499931tz9.gif[/img][/url]

Jacca5660
Submarine Voyage Captain
Submarine Voyage Captain
Posts: 6842
Joined: Jun Sun 25, 2006 12:11 pm
Location: Chattanooga Tn
Contact:

Post by Jacca5660 » Jan Sat 10, 2009 12:47 am

I am a wire monkey (read low volt tech). I've already have ran the wire. It's installed, jacked, plated, and test with the fluke tester. I have completed this for 5 rooms, I am only look to set up a 2 computer network for now. There are never any wires to trip over in my house (My computer runs my home entertainment system in every room of the house and garage. I've ran several thousand feet of Cat 5E, RG 6 and 59, And 22/4). That portion of this project is already done.

Just to be factual I and some friends have software that can get into any wireless network. They can not be secured (Blue Tooth is the worst!). In my job I demonstrate that to clients. That's why when I'm running a door access or CCTV job for the DOE, DOJ, or DOD, it's always wired.

I'm not a systems IT guy. I'm a Low Volt Tech (wire monkey). What I'm looking for is advice from people who have over come the problems of running a Wired Home Network. I install wireless networks for friends and as a side line for extra cash. That I know how to do. I just feel better with a Hard Wire Network.

As for monitoring the kids computer. Well it does come down to software, but I'm not sure of which is the better way to go when configuring the system. There have got to be some IT people on Sub. Hey Sub and some of admins what's your advice?
"Our dreams can come true - if we have the courage to pursue them" WED

"There's a fine prow on that steamer, let's climb aboard her!" Fireside

"You're off the map mateys..Here there be SeaMonsters!!"

The original "LICENSE MAYHEM MARAUDER!!ImageImage

elizabethswann
Pirates of the Caribbean Buccaneer
Pirates of the Caribbean Buccaneer
Posts: 5834
Joined: Feb Mon 26, 2007 2:31 am
Location: The land of Fantasy
Contact:

Post by elizabethswann » Jan Sat 10, 2009 1:02 am

Wireless is the best way to go. I have that and it's been such a great transition. No more dial up!

aparadissis
Motor Boat Cruise Skipper
Motor Boat Cruise Skipper
Posts: 87
Joined: Dec Sat 27, 2008 11:24 pm
Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Home Lan

Post by aparadissis » Jan Mon 26, 2009 8:05 pm

ok, here is my two cents. This is what I do for my job. Since you are already wired, let's ignore the wireless suggestions. I would only say add it in later if you want it.

One PC can not act as a server unless it is a server. I would guess you don't have that licensing, so go with the switch/router way. I would recommend putting a DSL router (if it's dsl) and plug a 4 port switch in the LAN port. Plug all your PC's into the switch.

Blamo done. The only caveat would be to properly configure the router to keep you "account" active and online with your ISP.

Side note this solution is platform agnostic ie mac/pc/linux...

Second side note, this is assuming you are using high speed broadband. If you are using dial up; then sharing the connection will suck no matter what you do. And you will have to us internet connection sharing which is a pain in the rump.

Ask questions if you have more details.

bluebayougirl
Dumbo Flying Elephants Tamer
Dumbo Flying Elephants Tamer
Posts: 132
Joined: Sep Wed 05, 2007 12:03 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Post by bluebayougirl » Jan Mon 26, 2009 10:22 pm

Our home network is wireless - and we have no complaints. :) - blue
You say wicked - like it's a bad thing!

Jacca5660
Submarine Voyage Captain
Submarine Voyage Captain
Posts: 6842
Joined: Jun Sun 25, 2006 12:11 pm
Location: Chattanooga Tn
Contact:

Re: Home Lan

Post by Jacca5660 » Jan Tue 27, 2009 2:17 am

aparadissis wrote:ok, here is my two cents. This is what I do for my job. Since you are already wired, let's ignore the wireless suggestions. I would only say add it in later if you want it.

One PC can not act as a server unless it is a server. I would guess you don't have that licensing, so go with the switch/router way. I would recommend putting a DSL router (if it's dsl) and plug a 4 port switch in the LAN port. Plug all your PC's into the switch.

Blamo done. The only caveat would be to properly configure the router to keep you "account" active and online with your ISP.

Side note this solution is platform agnostic ie mac/pc/linux...

Second side note, this is assuming you are using high speed broadband. If you are using dial up; then sharing the connection will suck no matter what you do. And you will have to us internet connection sharing which is a pain in the rump.

Ask questions if you have more details.
Thanks for the advice! Yes I do have broadband. Let me see where I am with this project (I haven't worked on it for a while) and I will get back with you. ;+>
"Our dreams can come true - if we have the courage to pursue them" WED

"There's a fine prow on that steamer, let's climb aboard her!" Fireside

"You're off the map mateys..Here there be SeaMonsters!!"

The original "LICENSE MAYHEM MARAUDER!!ImageImage

Josh Q
Mike Fink Keel Boats Boatswain
Mike Fink Keel Boats Boatswain
Posts: 356
Joined: Oct Thu 23, 2008 11:22 am
Contact:

Post by Josh Q » Jan Tue 27, 2009 10:48 am

WIRED! I'm a wire freak. Wirless is nice but it can't beat being hard wired into the network. My only reason for wireless at my house are the now 5 laptops around. If not for the laptops there would be no need for the wireless we have 6 computers all wired into 1 network on 2 worgroups right now! Works great. Wow good god we have 11 computers right now. I've never added that up. Yikes. Oh and as a side note Windows 7 kicks butt. I'm beta testing the OS right now and Good Bye Vista Good Bye XP Hello Windows 7 it's amazing!
Our Theme Park Podcast is back! http://www.themeparktalk.com

Len90
Submarine Voyage Captain
Submarine Voyage Captain
Posts: 6726
Joined: Mar Sat 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by Len90 » Jan Tue 27, 2009 11:25 am

Josh Q wrote:WIRED! I'm a wire freak. Wirless is nice but it can't beat being hard wired into the network. My only reason for wireless at my house are the now 5 laptops around. If not for the laptops there would be no need for the wireless we have 6 computers all wired into 1 network on 2 worgroups right now! Works great. Wow good god we have 11 computers right now. I've never added that up. Yikes. Oh and as a side note Windows 7 kicks butt. I'm beta testing the OS right now and Good Bye Vista Good Bye XP Hello Windows 7 it's amazing!
Maybe that will turn me back to Windows, because Vista turned us fully over to Mac, with 1 laptop left on Vista. I personally have taken a real liking to Mac OSX 10.5. And the Apple airport network, once set up is EXCELLENT!
- Len90
Image
Image
"If you can dream it, you can do it. Always remember that this whole thing was started with a dream and a mouse."
"Here you leave today and enter the world of yesterday, tomorrow, and fantasy"

Jacca5660
Submarine Voyage Captain
Submarine Voyage Captain
Posts: 6842
Joined: Jun Sun 25, 2006 12:11 pm
Location: Chattanooga Tn
Contact:

Post by Jacca5660 » Jan Tue 27, 2009 11:35 am

Josh Q wrote:WIRED! I'm a wire freak. Wirless is nice but it can't beat being hard wired into the network. My only reason for wireless at my house are the now 5 laptops around. If not for the laptops there would be no need for the wireless we have 6 computers all wired into 1 network on 2 worgroups right now! Works great. Wow good god we have 11 computers right now. I've never added that up. Yikes. Oh and as a side note Windows 7 kicks butt. I'm beta testing the OS right now and Good Bye Vista Good Bye XP Hello Windows 7 it's amazing!
Can you please send me the instructions?
"Our dreams can come true - if we have the courage to pursue them" WED

"There's a fine prow on that steamer, let's climb aboard her!" Fireside

"You're off the map mateys..Here there be SeaMonsters!!"

The original "LICENSE MAYHEM MARAUDER!!ImageImage

Josh Q
Mike Fink Keel Boats Boatswain
Mike Fink Keel Boats Boatswain
Posts: 356
Joined: Oct Thu 23, 2008 11:22 am
Contact:

Post by Josh Q » Jan Tue 27, 2009 1:30 pm

Can you please send me the instructions?
PM me and I'll e-mail you some information. Also info on some things so that you can monitor the other comp.
Maybe that will turn me back to Windows, because Vista turned us fully over to Mac, with 1 laptop left on Vista. I personally have taken a real liking to Mac OSX 10.5. And the Apple airport network, once set up is EXCELLENT!
I'm a PC person when it comes to running system design things. But, when it comes to all the graphics work I do I prefer a Mac. Just get a good Anti-virus with all this Mac trouble going on right now.
Our Theme Park Podcast is back! http://www.themeparktalk.com

Len90
Submarine Voyage Captain
Submarine Voyage Captain
Posts: 6726
Joined: Mar Sat 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by Len90 » Jan Wed 28, 2009 1:17 am

Josh Q wrote:
Can you please send me the instructions?
PM me and I'll e-mail you some information. Also info on some things so that you can monitor the other comp.
Maybe that will turn me back to Windows, because Vista turned us fully over to Mac, with 1 laptop left on Vista. I personally have taken a real liking to Mac OSX 10.5. And the Apple airport network, once set up is EXCELLENT!
I'm a PC person when it comes to running system design things. But, when it comes to all the graphics work I do I prefer a Mac. Just get a good Anti-virus with all this Mac trouble going on right now.
Thanks for the heads up, but it appears to be through an illegal copy of iLife 09. I have a legit copy on order and a healthy back-up to restore to.
- Len90
Image
Image
"If you can dream it, you can do it. Always remember that this whole thing was started with a dream and a mouse."
"Here you leave today and enter the world of yesterday, tomorrow, and fantasy"

Botts
Omnibus Driver
Omnibus Driver
Posts: 25
Joined: Mar Tue 31, 2009 10:39 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada

Post by Botts » Apr Wed 01, 2009 1:09 pm

I'd go with an Apple wireless router.
Reasons being:
-Wireless capabilities if you eventually need it (can be turned off for now)
-Gigabit ethernet (insanely fast) I read you have a media server, it'll fly with Gigabit ethernet
-Ease of set up.
-The ability to plug a printer (or two, and/or hard-drives) either directly into the USB port on the back of the router, or through a USB hub to connect more than one device.
-Second to none product support.

In terms of the internet monitoring, you'll have to look into software options for windows. I know when I was in my teens no amount of monitoring software would have helped... Kids are quite crafty, most already know how to defeat security software from school with proxies or SSL.

I'd recommend quitely popping into their rooms from time to time, it's probably the best option and no one can alt-tab that fast.

Post Reply